CSU San Bernardino Celebrates 20 Years as CCAA Member

SAN BERNARDINO -- The date was August 30, 1991, and the sports world was transfixed on an event that took place in Tokyo, where American Mike Powell broke fellow American Bob Beamon’s 23-year old long jump record.

Across the Pacific Ocean, a monumental feat in the history of Cal State San Bernardino athletics took place, too, where the Coyotes’ athletic department began its very own leap of faith as the volleyball team competed in the university’s first athletic event as an NCAA Division II member within the California Collegiate Athletic Association.

As CSUSB celebrates its 20th anniversary of competing in Division II and within the CCAA, the Coyotes have established and sustained themselves as a national and conference recognized athletic force with teams and student-athletes who compete for team and individual honors, both inside the classroom and on the field of competition.

Not bad for a university that didn’t begin intercollegiate athletics until 1984.

“There is little doubt that intercollegiate athletics have made an indelible mark upon this university, and especially so since we became a member of the CCAA in 1991,’’ Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Kevin Hatcher said. “We are a source of pride for both our university and our community in the opportunities afforded student-athletes here at CSUSB.

"In our 20 years as a member of the CCAA family, the 497 All-CCAA honors speaks volumes about quality athletic performance, but even so, all of us are especially proud of what our coaches and student-athletes put forth each day. Striving to become better people -- athletically and academically,’’ Hatcher added.

CSUSB's CCAA Notables
Individual All-CCAA honors (497)
1st Team, 2nd Team and Honorable Mention

CCAA team championships (18)
Volleyball – 8
Men’s Basketball – 8
Men’s Soccer – 1
Baseball – 1

CCAA Player of the Year honors (18)

Volleyball – 6
Men’s Basketball – 3
Women’s Soccer – 3
Women’s Basketball – 2
Baseball – 1
Men’s Soccer – 1
Softball – 1
Women’s Tennis – 1

CCAA Athlete of the Year (3)
Kim Morohunfola (Volleyball, 2003-04)
Brianna Harris (Volleyball, 2004-05)
Jessica Granados (Volleyball, 2008-09)

CCAA Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year (2)
Roberto Perdace (Soccer) 1992-93
Greg Wilson (Golf) 1993-94

CCAA Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year (3)

Tara Fontana (Soccer) 1997-98
Amy Pope (Volleyball) 2001-02
Meghan Haas (Volleyball) 2008-09

CCAA Coach of the Year honors (15)

Men’s Basketball (6)

Larry Reynolds (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002)
Jeff Oliver (2003, 2004)

Volleyball (3)

Kim Cherniss (2001, 2002, 2007)

Men’s Soccer (2)
Noah Kooiman (2010)
Carlos Juarez (1991)

Women’s Soccer (2)
Gretchen Zigante (1995)
Dave Widor (1994)

Softball (1)
Tacy Duncan (2008)

Women’s Basketball (1)
Luvina Beckley (1994)

CCAA All-Academic Selections (143)

(Began in 2005-06 academic year)