HSU to Host CCAA Basketball Tournament

Men's Tournament Page

Women's Tournament Page

Fact Sheet (PDF)

WALNUT CREEK – The 2010 California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships have been awarded to Humboldt State, conference commissioner Robert J. Hiegert announced on Wednesday.

The 16-team event will be contested March 2-6 with the semi-finals and championship games slated for the two-year old Lumberjack Arena (1,950) on the campus of Humboldt State in Arcata. The championship format calls for eight men’s and women’s teams to compete in first-round games at campus sites on March 2 with the winners advancing to the semifinals on March 5 in Arcata. The championship games will be played on Saturday, March 6.

“Over the years Humboldt State has received great community support and the conference membership is confident that it will be a well-attended event and serve as a revenue-maker for the conference,” Hiegert said. “The idea of playing in a new facility in front of large and enthusiastic crowds will create memorable experiences for the student-athletes."

The 2010 CCAA Tournament will mark the third consecutive year that the conference has hosted a postseason tournament. Cal State San Bernardino was the host site the last two seasons.

Cal State San Bernardino is the defending men's champion while Cal State Dominguez Hills captured the women's title in 2009.

2010 CCAA Basketball Championships
Lumberjack Arena, Arcata, Calif.
March 2-6, 2010

March 2 (Tue) – At Campus Sites

First Round (At Campus Sites)
No. 8 Cal State Dominguez Hills at No. 1 UC San Diego; 7 p.m.
No. 7 Cal State San Bernardino at No. 2 Cal Poly Pomona; 5:30 p.m.
No. 6 San Francisco State at No. 3 Chico State; 7 p.m.
No. 5 Cal State Monterey Bay at No. 4 Humboldt State; 5:30 p.m.

No. 8 Cal State L.A. at No. 1 Cal Poly Pomona; 7:30 p.m.
No. 7 Sonoma State at No. 2 Humboldt State; 7:30 p.m.
No. 6 San Francisco State at No. 3 Cal State San Bernardino; 7 p.m.
No. 5 Chico State at No. 4 Cal State Dominguez Hills; 7 p.m.

March 5 (Fri) - Arcata

Women's Semifinal No. 1 - TBA
Women's Semifinal No. 2 - TBA

Men's Semifinal No. 1 - TBA
Men's Semifinal No. 2 - TBA

March 6 (Sat) - Arcata
Women's Championship - 5:00 p.m.
Men's Championship - 7:30 p.m.