2013 Men's Soccer All-Conference Team Announced

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Three-time defending South Division title winner, Cal State L.A. placed a Conference-high five players on the 2013 California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) All-Conference teams to highlight Thursday’s release of the CCAA annual postseason awards, that were presented at the 2013 CCAA Men’s and Women’s Soccer Championships pre-tournament banquet in Turlock.

Following right behind the Golden Eagles was Cal State Dominguez Hills, Chico State, and UC San Diego with four All-Conference selections each.  

The Most Valuable Offensive Player of the Year has been awarded to Sonoma State’s senior forward, Taylor Varnadore.  Varnadore finished the regular-season with 59 shots and is third in the CCAA with 25 points leading the Seawolves scoring efforts with 11 goals and three assists.

For the second consecutive season, UC San Diego’s senior keeper Josh Cohen has earned the CCAA’s Most Defensive Player of the Year award.  Cohen, with the help of his teammates, held his opponents to just eight goals on the season, recording a Conference-leading 0.43 goals against average that ranks third among all Division II goalkeepers. 

Cal Poly Pomona’s Luis Najera Jr. is this year’s CCAA Freshman of the Year after wrapping up his rookie season with four goals, four assists and 12 total points.  For the second straight year a Cal State Dominguez Hills player has been awarded the Newcomer of the Year award.  Joining former award winner and teammate Aaron Salazar is Cerritos College transfer; Alejandro Covarrubias who collected six goals, five assists, and 17 points to help the Toros to an overall record of 9-6-3.

This season’s Coach of the Year goes to the 2012 reining honoree from UC San Diego, Jon Pascale.   After falling just short of CCAA Championship Tournament last season, Pascale guided his team to their first post-season berth since 2005.  In his six years with the Tritons he has compiled and overall record of 58-35-17 and recorded a season-best record 11-2-3, 13-2-3 overall in 2013.

The Wildcats and Tritons have a Conference-best three players named to this year’s First team.  From the Wildcats’ squad – senior midfielder Tyson Crim, senior midfielder Octavio Guzman, and senior defender Jake Ward.  Representing the Tritons keeper, Cohen along with fellow seniors Andisheh Bagheri and Alec Arsht. 

Others receiving All-CCAA first team honors are Humboldt State’s senior forward Zach Hammond, Sonoma State’s Varnadore, Cal State San Bernardino’s senior defender Lee Nishanian, and Cal State Dominguez Hills’ senior forward Salazar along with junior midfielder Covarrubias.



2013 Men's Soccer All-Conference Team
FIRST TEAM        
Pos. Name Institution Yr. Hometown
GK Josh Cohen UC San Diego Sr. Sunnyvale, Calif.
F Zach Hammond Humboldt State Sr. Redmond, Wash.
F Aaron Salazar Cal State Dominguez Hills Sr. West Covina, Calif.
F Taylor Varnadore Sonoma State Sr. Sebastopol, Calif.
MF Andisheh Bagheri UC San Diego Sr. Davis, Calif.
MF Alejandro Covarrubias Cal State Dominguez Hills Jr. Cudahy, Calif.
MF Tyson Crim Chico State Sr. Boise, Idaho
MF Octavio Guzman Chico State Sr. Bay Point, Calif.
D Alec Arsht UC San Diego Sr. Oak Park, Calif.
D Lee Nishanian Cal State San Bernardino Sr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
D Jake Ward Chico State Sr. Chico, Calif.
Pos. Name Institution Yr. Hometown
GK Mike Beigarten Cal State L.A. Jr. Livermore, Calif.
F Sam Merritt San Franciscoj State So. San Clemente, Calif.
F Halil Tozar Cal State L.A. Jr. Berlin, Germany
F Servando Perez Cal State Monterey Bay R-Sr. Guadalupe, Calif.
MF Alberto Anguiano Cal State Monterey Bay Jr. Oxnard, Calif.
MF Juan Ochoa Cal State L.A. Sr. Paramount, Calif.
MF Luke Palmer Chico State Sr. Davis, Calif.
MF Jio Santana Cal State Dominguez Hills Sr. Bishop, Calif.
MF Taylor Wirth UC San Diego Sr. Escondido, Calif.
D Tony Alfaro Cal State Dominguez Hills R-So. Santa Barbara, Calif.
D Dane Nielsen Cal State L.A. Jr. Sandy, Utah
D Christhian Reyes Cal State L.A. Sr. Santa Rosa, Calif.


Most Valuable Offensive Player: Taylor Varnadore (Sonoma State)
Most Valuable Defensive Player: Josh Cohen (UC San Diego)
Freshman of the Year: Luis Najera Jr. (Cal Poly Pomona)
Newcomer of the Year: Alejandro Covarrubias (Cal State Dominguez Hills)
Coach of the Year: Jon Pascale (UC San Diego)


Honorable Mention: GK – Sam Evans (Chico State); F: Brandon Cortez (Cal Poly Pomona), Andre Bissmark (Cal State L.A.), Alessandro Canale (UC San Diego), Miguel Vazquez (Cal State Dominguez Hills), Javier Martin (Cal State East Bay); MF – Max Madrigal (Cal State Monterey Bay), Nico Spann (Sonoma State), Conley Perry (Cal State East Bay), Aaron Glover (Sonoma State); D – Jordan Hatanaka (Cal State Dominguez Hills), Gavin Lamming (UC San Diego), Brett Sampiere (UC San Diego), Jordan Gorman (Chico State), Kyle Cadigan (Cal State Stanislaus), Jose Ortega (Cal Poly Pomona).